我们的故事

Atul Gawande, M.D., 外科医生,作家,在波士顿的ASTRO大会上作为邀请发言人发表演讲。他的感想反映了他发表的众多文章和书籍。他指出,我们的专业在过去十年中开发了许多新的设备,机器和治疗方案。但是我们怎么知道我们是否正确地运用了先进的技术呢?

目前美国85%的癌症患者正在社区医院进行癌症诊断和治疗。农村/社区癌症中心医师面临的挑战是需要精通所有肿瘤部位的癌症治疗。社区肿瘤医生必须充当肿瘤学的“全科医生”,并且了解众多癌症的治疗方法。形成鲜明对比的是,在一个癌症中心工作的肿瘤医生可能将整个职业生涯集中在一个肿瘤部位,并且很可能也有同事在专研莫一个癌症。我们需要把这两个至关重要的实体联系起来。

在ASCO Conqeur Cancer癌症基金会的支持下,由Susan G. Komen资助的提高癌症护理经费,我们已经将这个“链接”做成了一个电子网络。 Chartrounds将社区医师与肿瘤专家联系起来。这笔赠款支持了CHARTROUNDS三年, 2010-2013。

至2014年6月,CHARTROUNDS以发展到1300多名会员,540余小时的网上课题讨论,由美国一些权威放射肿瘤学家主持。通过每次会议后的反馈,我们知道会员认为这些会议与他们的工作实践非常相关。百分之八十的参与者表示他们会因会议讨论而改变治疗方案,为患者的临床治疗改善了治疗计划,且相对得更改了放射剂量,靶区,和正常的组织的照射。

在美国放射学会的支持下,CHARTROUNDS符合继续医学教育学分资格

Chartrounds将改善社区癌症治疗,从而改善美国大多数癌症患者的治疗。通过改进诊断,治疗方案,放疗技术,及减少正常组织照射和危害,我们将拯救更多的生命。

谢谢您对我们的兴趣,欢迎您加入我们来共同完成提高癌症治疗的使命

Patricia Harrigan Hardenbergh, M.D.

Our Story

Atul Gawande, M.D., surgeon, author and invited speaker addressed the audience of radiation oncologists at the ASTRO annual meeting in Boston. His message mirrored one that has been woven through many of his published articles and books. He observed that our specialty had developed many new devices, machines, and practices over the past 10 years. But how did we know, he asked, if we were implementing the advanced technology correctly?

About 85% of cancer patients in the US are currently being treated for their cancer diagnosis in community hospital settings. Rural/community cancer center physicians are challenged by the need to have a level of expertise in all cancer site treatments. In order to serve community cancer patients well, the community oncologist must function as the “general practitioner” of oncology and yet practice cutting edge oncology for many different cancer diagnoses. In stark contrast, the oncologist practicing at a major cancer center will likely focus their entire career on one disease site and have several colleagues in their department doing the same. Both entities, essential to the practice of medicine, needed to be linked.

With the support of the Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO, Improving Cancer Care Grant funded by Susan G. Komen for the Cure, we have been able to put this "link" into a web-based program. Chartrounds links community practice physicians with each other and disease site experts. The grant spanned a three year period from 2010-2013.

By June 2014, with over 1300 members, the chartrounds project has run over 540 one hour sessions, hosted by some of the leading academic radiation oncologists in the US.  Through feedback responses after each session we know that members think the sessions are extremely relevant to their practice.  Eighty percent of participants say they will make changes in their practice as result of attending the session. Specific changes have consistently been reported as changes in the clinical management of the patient, and changes in treatment planning including dose, fields, and normal tissue toxicity.

With the support of the American Board of Radiology chartrounds sessions now qualify for Maintenance of Certification requirements including Practice Quality Improvement projects and CME. 

The Chartrounds project will improve cancer care in the community setting where the majority of cancer patients are treated in the US. The benefits will translate into more lives cured, by improving the appropriateness of patient selection criteria for treatment, by improving techniques of delivery of radiation, and by decreasing normal tissue toxicities that may contribute to lives lost.

Thank you for your interest, and please join us in our mission to improve cancer care!

Patricia Harrigan Hardenbergh, M.D.